Air Force Association Frank Luke Chapter

SUPPORT and Recognition

Teacher of the Year, Grants and Awards

Teacher of the Year Program

Teachers do so much more than educate. They inspire, motivate, and nurture. AFA's unique Teacher of the Year Program rewards special teachers who help students see STEM education as an exciting adventure.


Click here for Application for Teacher of the Year

Eligibility Criteria: The candidate must be a former AFA State Teacher of the Year selected during the current or past academic year.

Nomination Package Components: The nomination form should be completed by State AEVP, signed by State President, attached to the front of the teacher materials, noted below, and submitted to AFA National at by 31 May.

The teacher should compile and submit to the Frank Luke Chapter Aerospace Education Vice President (AEVP) the following documents for the portfolio:

Contact: VP/AEROSPACE EDUCATION - Harry H. Bailey - - 623-695-2886 mobile - 623-846-7483 home

1. EDUCATIONAL HISTORY AND PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT: This section must be in outline form, listing colleges and universities attended including post-graduate studies; indicating degrees earned and dates of attendance; and listing employment history indicating time period, grade level, and subject area. Outline should include professional association memberships and offices held; service on committees, commissions, and task forces; and other relevant activities. Leadership activities in staff development and the training of future teachers should be listed along with awards and other recognition. Response should be titled and limited to two (2) double-spaced pages.

2. PROFESSIONAL BIOGRAPHY: This section should list the influencing factors in becoming a teacher. A description of greatest personal contributions and accomplishments in STEM education should also be included. Response should be titled and limited to two (2) double-spaced pages.

3. NATIONAL AEROSPACE TEACHER OF THE YEAR: This section should describe what message and/or platform the teacher would communicate to the teaching profession and to the public as the National Aerospace Teacher of the Year, serving as a spokesperson and representative for the entire teaching profession. Response should be titled and limited to one (1) double-spaced page.

4. THREE PAGES OF OTHER DOCUMENTATION: This section should include optional three pages of newspaper articles, other documents, and/or photos that include the teacher with students doing STEM activities (ensure students in photos have media release permission for use). 5. FOUR LETTERS OF SUPPORT: This section should include four recent letters of support: one must be from the AFA Chapter President, one must be from the AFA State President, and one must be from the superintendent or equivalent level administrator; and the fourth may be from a colleague, student/former student, parent, or community leader. The original letters should be incorporated as the last four pages of the portfolio. NOTE: An effective letter of support contains evidence of personal knowledge of the teacher and an indication of the qualities which would qualify the candidate to be the Air Force Association’s National Aerospace Teacher of the Year. Each letter should be limited to one (1) single-spaced page.

Pitsenbarger Awards

AFA salutes enlisted Airmen graduating from the Community College of the Air Force (CCAF) with plans to pursue a bachelor's degree. At CCAF graduation ceremonies each spring and fall, Pitsenbarger Awards are given out to selected top Active Duty, Guard, and Reserve graduates.


AFA Outstanding Cadet of the Year Program

AFA supports AFROTC, AFJROTC, and Civil Air Patrol cadets as they develop into responsible citizens and the next generation of aerospace leaders. We are proud to provide an AFA Outstanding Cadet of the Year medal to one cadet in each detachment, squadron, or unit. AFA is proud to support these future leaders with an award celebrating their remarkable accomplishments.


Arnold Air Society and Silver Wings Support

AFA is proud to provide more than $30,000 annually in support of Arnold Air Society and Silver Wings. All cadets and students are also AFA members and many have close connections with their local AFA chapters.

Arnold Air Society is a professional, honorary service organization of ROTC cadets advocating the support of aerospace power. Silver Wings is a national, co-ed, professional organization dedicated to creating proactive, knowledgeable, and effective civic leaders through community service and education about national defense. 


Credit Union West Announces Five Academic Scholarships in 2019 - Five high school graduates will each earn $1,000 towards a college education

   As a local financial leader, Credit Union West is committed to supporting Maricopa and Yavapai counties through programs that benefit the community-at-large. In 2019, the credit union is offering $5,000 in scholarships to graduating high school seniors. These five $1,000 awards will allow local high school graduates to offset the cost of studying at a four-year college, community college or trade school.

   With a special focus, two of these $1,000 scholarships are reserved for students who participated in their school’s Junior Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (JROTC). The remaining three awards are open to all local graduates who meet the scholarship requirements.  

   “We are committed to advancing the economic strength of Maricopa and Yavapai counties,” said Karen Roch, President and CEO of Credit Union West. “These scholarships help local students gain the knowledge and skills needed to fill local jobs and become contributing members of their communities.”

   Maricopa and Yavapai County students who graduate in 2019 and plan to attend college or trade school in the fall can apply for a Credit Union West scholarship from January 1, 2019 to March 29, 2019. The application form and rules can be found online at . Scholarship winners will be announced by May 1, 2019.

If you would like more information about this topic, or to schedule an interview, please call Allan Switalski at 602.631.3426 or email